Verse 0049

…the imminent is not apparent…

do you like word play
as much as I do?
or perhaps the better question is –
do you give yourself as much credit for your word play
as I do myself?

to jump right into it
(without saying hello to you)
let me lead you through my thoughts this day
and how I came to the statement
the imminent is not apparent

if you are like me
you feel

A demonstrator confronts police near Camden Yards during a protest against the death in police custody of Freddie Gray in Baltimore April 25, 2015.

you are angry
sad
you feel helpless
“what can I/what am I supposed to do?”
-should I tweet about it?
#BlackLivesMatter
-read more about it?
-comment about it on media articles?
-march?
-protest?
-give money?
-run for office (any office)?

(make songs about it?)

all the quotes say
being silent
is acquiescing
or agreeing
or something along those lines

“In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends.” Martin Luther King, Jr.

and

“The ultimate tragedy is not the oppression and cruelty by the bad people but the silence over that by the good people. Martin Luther King, Jr.

I have been trained to think
and
I train myself to think
which can be and is
both
a blessing and a curse

I think…
  “my viewpoints will be accepted by those
  who share my view
  and
  rejected by those who do not share my view”

so what good is it to express my feelings
unless there is a positive outcome
in my expression?
outside of just venting
and feeling vindicated
because I joined the chorus

and now you have just happened along
the core of my current obsession
how do we/I get those who
-don’t know
-don’t care
-don’t agree
to shift
even slightly
their viewpoint?

Crystallizing Public Opinion – Edward Bernays

there are ways
of course
if we study and apply
and may I add the caveat
if we have the “correct” heart

Edward Bernays is considered the “Father of Public Relations”
(google those four words together and you will see)
and whether you know about him
agree with him or not
there is something to be learned there
something potentially powerful
I have started my studies
and we shall see where it leads
(I welcome you along this journey)

(doesn’t mean I’m not going to share flavors that touch me too)

let me tie up my first thought
before I shed light on other items
capturing my current attention

“the imminent is not apparent”

I was thinking about all the negative forces
out there
death and destruction
abundant
whether we choose to pay attention or not
so much so
we may postulate
with a certain belief in accuracy
where this whole thing is heading
and we may be right
BUT
we do not know with absolute certainty

this is what I was thinking/contemplating

now u no

Soul Food – The Surprising Story of an American Cuisine – One Plate at a Time by Adrian Miller

been reading Soul Food…
sometimes I get frustrated
with how much
I do not know
thinking to myself
“I should know this…”
still, I am willing to learn

Soul Food by Adrian Miller
is bigger than what you think
if you are ready to open your mind
to a historical journey through more than just “soul food”
grab it and start turning the pages…

oh yeah
and catch Reverb & The Verse out and about too
this summer

RiNo DNVR Final Friday


check out the Reverb and The Verse lyrics page here: Lyrics by #RATV

Leave a Reply

